It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:23 PM

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 12:04 PM 
10 Years? God im old!
10 Years? God im old!

EQ1: Annastazia
WoW: Gravestone
For those of you that practice different forms of Martial Arts... why did you chose the form that you are practicing. Be it tae Kwon do or Karate, what formed your choice?

Also... from your experience, can martial arts teach discipline or must you have it to learn martial arts?

I am considering taking some lessons for the primary purpose of introducing more discipline into my life.

Offline Profile  

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:15 PM 
Cazicthule Bait
Cazicthule Bait

EQ1: Perpetuo / Bupas
WoW: Proven
I am not really experienced enough to give a great response -- but I will say this.

Do yoga first if you are really planning on giving it a serious go. Your flexibility is going to be highly limiting if you have not been actively working on it. Doing some basic kenpo movements in your normal workout routine would also be helpful to build stamina.

Offline Profile  

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:16 PM 
The Lurker at the Threshold

EQ1: Vanamar
WoW: Kallaystra
Rift: Tarathia
tai chi or yoga is helpful for flexibility as bupas said -- you don't want to go into an activity that can strain you as bad as martial arts can without having some flexibility.

I take semi-regular krav maga courses, mostly because it's actually useful for self defense.

World of Warcraft: Kallaystra, Gweila, Steakumn, Tarathia [ Feathermoon/Horde ]

Offline Profile  

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:22 AM 
Uh, I mean EZboard Sux!
Uh, I mean EZboard Sux!

I did TKD when I was younger and didn't really grasp the whole concept of it all until much later in life. It in reality is just like anything else, unless you commit yourself at it you'll never be anything but average.